Landscapes for Camera Class

This year started out horribly.  So, not long ago I decided I needed to get back to my camera and it has definitely been the balm I needed.

I love being behind the camera, looking around for things to capture, setting up the shot and clicking the shutter.  It’s just so satisfying.  I feel now I’m taking it more seriously than I have previously. I’m still practicing and trying out new things but with a bit more zeal and purpose.

That being said, I decided to attend a 10 week beginners course at the local Camera Club.  I know I’m not strictly a beginner but I have learnt a lot, despite all the material being about digital cameras. It’s also been nice to get out and do something different during the week.

Anyway, we were given a project to do for the last class… Landscapes.  Now, if you’ve looked at my photographs you will gather that I like mostly close-ups, I’m not a big landscape taker.  Nevertheless I was quite keen to get trying out something other than what I usually do.  So, we were to take three photographs, all to be taken on a wide angle lens, 28mm being the widest I have.  The whole frame was to be pin sharp.

This was also my first time using Kodak Ektar 100 film and I must stay I’m not that bothered about it, but it was a very dull and wet day so I’m going to give it another chance.  Although, the photographs I took with my 55mm Rokkor lens I love more than the wide angle shots, which were taken with a Vivitar lens.

I went to Falkland, my favourite village in Scotland.  Here are the three images I chose, taken with my Minolta SRT 101 and Kodak Ektar 100 film converted to black and white in Photoshop.
You can see the rest of the photographs I took that day in my main gallery under Falkland /December 2016.

Leave a Reply

